Research Development Advisory Council

The Research Development Advisory Council was inaugurated in 2006. Its members are Associate/Assistant Deans for Research or individuals who hold comparable responsibilities for research development within their respective academic College/School. Council members represent the research interests of each of the academic Schools and Colleges at VCU, make policy recommendations to the Vice President for Research and Innovation, and serve as a conduit of information from the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation (OVPRI) back to their constituencies. The Council meets monthly with the Vice President for Research and Innovation and the Associate Vice President for Research Development to address topics of specific interest to the VCU research enterprise, to discuss policy issues, and to identify resources and supports necessary for increasing the strength and competitiveness of VCU as a research university. Affiliate non-voting members are appointed to ReDAC on a case-by-case basis by the Vice President for Research and Innovation in consultation with the academic vice presidents.

VCU Research Development Advisory Council:

Dr. P. Srirama Rao
Vice President for Research and Innovation
Email: vpresearch@vcu.edu

Dr. John Ryan
Associate Vice President for Research Development
Email: jjryan@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-2267

Dr. Kathleen Rudasill, Chair
Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development, School of Education
Email: kmrudasill@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-9337

Dr. Douglas D. Davis, Member
Director of Research, School of Business
Email: dddavis@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-7140

Dr. Michael S. Donnenberg, Member
Senior Associate Dean for Research and Research Training, School of Medicine
Email: michael.donnenberg@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-0673

Dr. Jill A. Gordon, Member
Associate Dean of Faculty and Academic Affairs, L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs
Email: jagordon@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-0901

Dr. Joshua Langberg, Member
Associate Dean for Research, College of Humanities and Sciences
Email: jlangberg@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-6273

Dr. Aron Lichtman, Member
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, School of Pharmacy
Email: alichtma@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-6273

Dr. Suzanne Ameringer, Member
Assistant Dean for Research, Scholarships and Innovation, School of Nursing
Email: swameringer@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 628-7551

Dr. Sarah K. Price, Member
Acting Representative, School of Social Work
Email: skprice@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-0579

Dr. Harvey Schenkein, Member
Assistant Dean for Research, School of Dentistry
Email: haschenk@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-9185

Dr. Alexander Tartaglia, Interim Member
Senior Associate Dean, VCU College of Health Professions
Email: aftartag@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-7247

Dr. Robert Tombes, Member
Vice Provost for Life Sciences and Research
Email: rtombes@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-1865

Dr. Gregory E. Triplett, Member
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research, College of Engineering
Email: getriplett@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-3925

Matthew Woolman, Member
Interim Associate Dean for Innovation, Research, and Graduate Studies, School of the Arts
Email: mwoolman@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-1868

Affiliates

Dr. Douglas Boudinot
Dean, Graduate School
Email: fdboudinot@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-2233

Jimmy Ghaphery
Associate University Librarian for Scholarly Communications and Publishing, VCU Libraries
Email: jghapher@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-3551

Dr. John D. Leonard II
Executive Associate Dean and Professor, Office of the Dean, College of Engineering
Email: jdleonard@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-9228

James T. Parrish, Jr.
Director of Foundation Relations, Office of Corporate and Foundation Relations,
Division of Development and Alumni Relations
Email: jtparrish@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-4454

Vacant
Director of Community-Engaged Research, Office of Community Engagement

ReDAC Meeting Presentations

Dr. Kathleen Rudasill's Presentation on the School of Education (February 2019)
Tina Cunningham's Presentation on F&A Fundamentals (March 2019)
Dr. Aron Lichtman's Presentation on the School of Pharmacy (March 2019)
Dr. Monika Markowitz' Presentation on COI in Research (March 2019)
John Horigan’s Presentation on the Office of Research Subject Protection (April 2019)