Research Development Advisory Council

The Research Development Advisory Council was inaugurated in 2006. Its members are Associate/Assistant Deans for Research or individuals who hold comparable responsibilities for research development within their respective academic College/School. Council members represent the research interests of each of the academic Schools and Colleges at VCU, make policy recommendations to the Vice President for Research and Innovation, and serve as a conduit of information from the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation (OVPRI) back to their constituencies. The Council meets monthly with the Vice President for Research and Innovation and the Associate Vice President for Research Development to address topics of specific interest to the VCU research enterprise, to discuss policy issues, and to identify resources and supports necessary for increasing the strength and competitiveness of VCU as a research university. Affiliate non-voting members are appointed to ReDAC on a case-by-case basis by the Vice President for Research and Innovation in consultation with the academic vice presidents.

Members:

Dr. P. Srirama Rao
Vice President for Research and Innovation
Email: vpresearch@vcu.edu

Dr. John Ryan
Associate Vice President for Research Development
Email: jjryan@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-2267

Dr. Michael Donnenberg, Chair
Senior Associate Dean for Research and Research Training, School of Medicine
Email: michael.donnenberg@vcuhealth.org | Phone: (804) 828-0673

Dr. Jill Gordon, Vice-chair
Associate Dean of Faculty and Academic Affairs, L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs
Email: jagordon@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-0901

Aaron Anderson
Associate Chair and Director of Undergraduate Studies, School of the Arts
Email: adanderson@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-6741

Dr. Amy Armstrong
Associate Dean for Research, College of Health Professions
Email: ajarmstr@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-0913

Dr. Douglas Davis
Director of Research, School of Business
Email: dddavis@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-7140

Dr. Ram Gupta
Associate Dean for Faculty Research Development, College of Engineering
Email: rbgupta@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-1211

Dr. Joshua Langberg
Associate Dean for Research, College of Humanities and Sciences
Email: jlangberg@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-6273

Dr. Aron Lichtman
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, School of Pharmacy
Email: alichtma@vcu.edu | Phone:  (804) 828-8480

Dr. Iain Morgan
Associate Dean for Research, School of Dentistry
Email: immorgan@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-0149

Dr. Sarah Kye Price
Associate Dean for Faculty Development, School of Social Work
Email: skprice@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-0579

Dr. Kathleen Rudasill
Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development, School of Education
Email: kmrudasill@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-9337

Dr. Amy Salisbury
Associate Dean for Research, Scholarship, and Innovation, School of Nursing
Email: salisburya@vcu.edu | Phone: forthcoming

Dr. Robert Tombes
Vice Provost for Life Sciences and Research
Email: rtombes@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-1865

Affiliates

Jimmy Ghaphery
Associate University Librarian for Scholarly Communications and Publishing, VCU Libraries
Email: jghapher@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-3551

Dr. Amanda Hall
Director of Community-engaged Research and Special Projects, Center for Community Engagement and Impact
Email: hallaf2@vcu.edu | Phone (804) 827-4204

Dr. John Leonard II
Executive Associate Dean and Professor, Office of the Dean, College of Engineering
Email: jdleonard@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 828-9228

James Parrish, Jr.
Director of Foundation Relations, Office of Corporate and Foundation Relations,
Division of Development and Alumni Relations
Email: jtparrish@vcu.edu | Phone: (804) 827-4454

 

ReDAC Meeting Presentations

Dr. Kathy Rudasill's Presentation on Research at the School of Education (February 2019)
Tina Cunningham's Presentation on F&A Fundamentals (March 2019)
Dr. Aron Lichtman's Presentation on Research at the School of Pharmacy (March 2019)
Dr. Monika Markowitz' Presentation on COI in Research (March 2019)
John Horigan’s Presentation on the Office of Research Subject Protection (April 2019)
Dr. Gregory Triplett’s Presentation on Research at the College of Engineering (September 2019)
Dr. Michael Donnenberg’s Presentation on Research at the School of Medicine (October 2019)
Jimmy Ghaphery's Presentation on VCU Libraries (November 2019)
Carly Katz' and Miles Gordon's Presentation on Government Relations (December 2019)
Dr. Joshua Langberg's Presentation on Research at the College of Humanities and Sciences (December 2019)
Dr. Meredith Weiss's Presentation on Administration (December 2019)
Dr. John Leonard's Presentation on the Federal Demonstration Partnership (January 2020)
Dr. Doug Davis's Presentation on Research at the School of Business (February 2020)
Quinton Johnson's Presentation on Foreign Influence in Research (August 2020)